Celiac disease is a disease of the gastric system, caused by gluten intolerance, which affects, above all, people with hereditary predisposition. It affects the lining of the small intestine to make a flat surface with no mucosal villi that help digestion and absorption of nutrients.
Injuries caused by this disease are reversed with diet free of gluten, but reappear with the ingestion of these amino acids.That is, you suffer throughout life. Symptoms include diarrhea, nausea, vomiting, recurrent stomach pain, tiredness, sore head, weight loss and mouth ulcers.
According to medical experts, celiac disease affects one in 100 people worldwide. And of every 100 people with this disease, 70 are women and 30 are men; the same thing that affects children and adults. Most surprising is that 90 of every 100 people with this condition, ignore it (many times have mild symptoms). That is, only 10 of every 100 humans have been diagnosed by a physician. It is known that people who suffer are often members of one family. That is, they are people who belong to a genetic root.
The origin is unknown, but …
The origin of this disease is unknown. However, 62 years ago students of medicine discovered that gluten was the foreign substance that causes the disease, and since that time have been given the task of finding a cure for this disease that can lead to malnutrition and patient therefore death. But 10 years ago, scientists from Australia and the United Kingdom found that the toxic compounds found in the gluten found in wheat, rye, barley and oats –causes celiac disease.
Celiac is forbidden to eat bread
Scientific researchers concluded that gluten is the basic protein grains such as wheat, barley, rye and oats and therefore an important part of the food, either directly or indirectly. Therefore, it was concluded that 90% of manufactured products are not suitable for celiac patients (to contain this protein). Thus, they recommend that celiac patients must carry a strict diet (lifelong), which does not include those products. Therefore recommend that celiac patients do not consume.
They are recommended meats of all kinds
Because the diet of celiac patients is lifelong, and that 90% of manufactured foods include gluten, doctors and nutritionists have been given the task of developing a diet product that can be consumed if by affected: general –pescado meat, seafood, chicken, pork, res– is free of gluten. The same goes for food products, such as milk, plain or sweetened yogurt, egg, ham, ham, cheese, margarine, butter, cream. Canned fish in olive oil, vegetable oil, brined or smoked.
It is advised to consume plenty of vegetables
In celiac diet, doctors strongly recommend fresh fruits and vegetables (natural, boiled or roasted) of all kinds. They suggest to include in the diet, salad vegetables daily. The patient could also eat gluten free cereals such as rice, chickpeas, maize, lentils and beans of all varieties. Similarly you can eat the dried or canned vegetables, juices and natural fruits and vegetables of all kinds. However, beware that packaged juices do not contain gluten in –There conservatives to revise fine labels.
The sugar is not prohibited
Celiac patients can also include in your diet refined sugar, honey and maple syrup, chocolates, sweets, fruit preserves, dried or candied fruit. In the same way you are allowed to eat pickled vegetables: carrots, onions, zucchini, cauliflower, onion, olives, pickles. As for meals they can eat rice or corn (starch, meal). Regarding drinks can have coffee, teas of all kinds, soft, soft drinks. Although it should be noted that the portion of food should be moderate, to achieve nutritional balance. Likewise we recommend light exercise (preferably walking), to stay in shape.
They are prohibited beers
In celiac patient’s diet, there are products that are allowed by doctors and nutritionists, however, should be consumed in moderation, as in the case of alcoholic beverages such as wine and champagne. You can also take soft drinks and energy drinks. However, the beers are totally prohibited, because they are made with barley, as it is one of the foods that contain gluten. The same goes with other drinks whose production has been used rye, wheat or oats. Cognac, vodka, rum, brandy, sake, gin, cider, sherry, tequila, vermouth and scotch, are allowed, but moderation is recommended.
Products likely to have gluten
Doctors warn that there are many possibilities to include foods with ‘hidden’ gluten in their preparation. These include pates, instant soups, as well as powders to prepare ice cream, puddings, jellies, milk sweets, jellies and creams that contain artificial flavors (it used to thicken food). There is also risk of gluten found (albeit in small portions), in toothpastes, shampoos and soaps (in addition to those produced with wheat, barley or oats).Therefore, the celiac patient must get used to read labels of packaged products they consume to see if they contain glutamic acid.
Foods to eliminate celiac
Nutritionists agree that the celiac patient must definitely eliminate from your diet foods that contain gluten, such as wheat, barley, oats, rye and malt.Consequently, they are advised not to include in your diet flour made from derivatives of these products, such as bread, cookies, biscuits, pizza, cakes, pies, pastries, bread crumbs, pastries and cakes. They warn that they are common (for no apparent reason) diarrhea, nausea, stomach pain and recurrent, should see a doctor to the corresponding studies performed.
The disease can be controlled
Celiac patients must take diet throughout life, being an incurable disease. However, it can be controlled pretty well and the patient can live healthily.Treatment is based exclusively on a diet that is definitely eliminate products that contain gluten.With this diet, celiac patient can see improvement in a few weeks. However, you must learn to live with this treatment and be careful not to ingest gluten, even in very small portions. It is also advisable to attend the doctor once a year to study, to ensure that your health is in good condition.